Prof. Juanito E. Campos Elected Chairman and President

In its first meeting on September 23, 2012 at the close of the Sunday picnic and fellowship held at the Senior Center Park, Las Vegas, the Board of Directors (BOD) elected Prof. Juanito “Johnny” E. Campos Chairman and President for the years 2013 and 2014.

Eleven of the 14 elected directors were present in the meeting. When current President Rod Dioso opened the table for the nominations, Directors Campos, Lorie S. Malonzo, Gerry Galinato, Leo Abenes, and Floro Gutierrez were nominated for Chairman and President. The latter three nominees declined the nominations so the secret balloting went on and Dir. Campos garnered six votes and was elected while Dir. Malonzo obtained five votes.

Interviewed later on his election, Professor Campos said, “I have been a member of the CLSU International Alumni Group, Inc. since its inception four years ago, a graduate of CLAS in 1944 and CLAC in 1964 with a BSA degree and some graduate work, and I was also President of the Filipino-American Senior Citizens of Solano County, Inc. for eight years from 2004 to 2011. I believe above considerations must have played when the Board of Directors elected me.

“I am very grateful to the members of the Board for giving me the privilege of serving as Chairman and President. Am now in the twilight of my life and this gives me the chance to lead the Association before I travel to that undiscovered country from whose borne no traveler returns. Offhand, there are two things I propose to do: 1) recruit new members and 2) generate more funds. With the cooperation and assistance of the officers and members, I am positive we can make a significant difference.

“Finally, I wish to address all our fellow alumni that hypothetically, we are in one boat. Your participation and input are crucial to the success of our ‘voyage’. We either float or we sink.”

The Board of Directors also elected a secretary. Dir. Gutierrez who was the lone nominee was declared elected by the Chair. The BOD appointed a Treasurer, Dir. Norma B. Viray.

Other officers appointed are: Vice President �#34; Dir. Gerry Galinato and the Regional Vice Presidents namely, At Large �#34; Dir. Leo Abenes, Pacific NW/Intermountain �#34; Engr. Francisco Carpio, Northeast Coast �#34; Engr. Renato Cuizon, Southeast Coast �#34; Dr. Gilbert Sigua, Las Vegas �#34;Engr. Pablo Baldazo and Mrs. Angela T. Gaetos, Midwest �#34;Engr/Pastor Gil Valenzuela, Northern California �#34; Dir. Lorie S. Malonzo, Los Angeles �#34; Mr. Brigs Mandia, San Diego �#34; Dir. Annie Arcinue Silva, Central Canada �#34; Dr. Lun Mateo, Eastern Canada �#34; Mr. Manny Buado, Western Canada �#34; Mrs. Marietta A. Solano, Hawaii �#34; Pending (Mr. Bartolome Cadamia and Dr. Arsenia Cagauan are being considered), Auditors �#34; Dir. Noy Binoya and Dir. Johnny Raniel, Press Relation Officer �#34; Dir. Rob Bugawan. Appointed to assist the PRO �#34; Dir. Rev. Nenita G. Perez.

The officers will be inducted into office on December 15, 2012 at the Masonic Hall in Los Gatos, CA. The event will also celebrate the 10th Anniversary of the association (initially as the CLSU Organizing Committee in 2002) as well as an early Christmas Party.

See more Features
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});