CLSU’s “golden grains” are now PhilRice’s own
(by RV Manaois  4/19/2012)

CLSU alumni are now the pride of the Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice) as they have continued to demonstrate excellence in their respective fields by reaping awards and recognitions.

Dr. Antonio A. Alfonso (BS Bio) led the team who won the Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization Act Best R&D Paper (Gold Award) under the Basic Research Category for their paper entitled “Marker-aided transfer of beta-carotene biosynthetic genes (Golden Rice 1) into two Philippine rice varieties”. The team received the award, together with a cash prize of P 100,000 and P 1 M research grant, from the Department of Agriculture-Bureau of Agricultural Research during the 23rd National Research Symposium held on October 9-11, 2011. The said paper, co-authored by Eleanor S. Avellanoza (BS Bio), also received a Best Poster award during the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) Annual Scientific Meeting on July 14, 2011.

Dr. Flordeliza H. Bordey (USHS) place second in the NAST Talent Search for Young Scientist (Individual Category) during the NAST Annual Scientific Meeting. She also won the 2011 Best Paper award (Socio-economics category) by the Federation of Crop Science Societies (FCSSP) of the Philippines for her paper “Productivity of rice farming in the Philippines: Patterns and sources”.

Arnold S. Juliano and Joel A. Ramos (BS AgEn) were among the team who received the second place in the Best Paper competition during the Philippine Society of Agricultural Engineers Annual Convention in April 29, 2011.Their paper was entitled “Development of a mobile rice hull gasifier engine pump system”.

Other alumni were among the authors of winning poster papers presented in various scientific meetings in 2011. They were: Maricel D. Duque (BS Chem) and Leonardo V. Marquez (BS Agri) for the paper “Ecological risk management of blast endemic in rainfed lowland rice” which placed first in the Best Poster competition during the Pest Management Council of the Philippines Anniversary and Annual Scientific Conference; Vicky T. Dimaano (BS Bio), Artemio A. Corpuz, and Jesusa M. Rivera (BS Agri), third place in the Philippine Society of Soil Science and Technology Annual Meeting and Scientific Conference for their paper “Development and evaluation of floating gardens as food production strategy in flood-prone communities in the Philippines”; Erwin P. Rico Jr., third place in the Best Poster (Basic Research) competition in the FCSSP Conference for the research “Combating bacterial blight disease in hybrid rice cultivars through pyramided resistance genes”; and Nelson M. Panajon, Rosaly V. Manaois (BS Chem) and Henry F. Mamucod (BS Bio), first place in the Regional Symposium on Research and Development Highlights of the Central Luzon Agricultural Resources Research, Development and Extension Consortium for the paper “Health-promoting antioxidants from Philippine pigmented rice varieties”.

Eight alumni also received Outstanding Employee awards during the 2011 PhilRice Employees’ Recognition Program held on November 8, 2011. Christopher C. Cabusora and Dr. Bordey were named Outstanding Research Staffers for Levels 1 and 3, respectively, and King B. Bergonio (BS Chem) received a Special Citation for Level 1. Maryflor A. Gacutan (BS IT) and Carlito N. Bibal (BS Fisheries) were hailed as Outstanding Development Staffer (Level 1) and Skilled Worker, respectively. Lastly, BS BA graduates Elizabeth C. Ramos and Anna Liza P. Labay (Level 2) and Ma. Cielo J. Tibayan (BS Agri) (Level 3) received the Outstanding Administrative Support Staffers distinction.

See more News
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});